Scholarship Review Committee

The Scholarship Review Committee evaluates scholarship applications and assists with scholarship application criteria and assessment mechanisms. It also makes recommendations for scholarship recipient funding to the Board of Trustees.


Elaine Chin

Elaine M. Chin, B.S., R.T.(T), CMD
Elaine is the clinical coordinator of the California State University of Long Beach's radiation therapy program. She completed her bachelor's degree at the University of San Francisco and her radiation therapy certificate through the City College of San Francisco. In 1989, she obtained her qualification as a certified medical dosimetrist. In 1990, Elaine established the San Diego radiation therapy technology education program with six clinical affiliates. In 1997, she articulated this program with the program at CSULB and currently teaches both clinical and didactic courses.

Vice Chairman

Laura Aaron

Laura Aaron, Ph.D., R.T.(R)(M)(QM)
Laura is an associate professor and the department head and graduate coordinator of radiologic sciences at Northwestern State University. She completed her bachelor’s degree at McNeese State University, her master’s degree at Midwestern State University and her doctorate at Louisiana State University. She currently teaches in the graduate and undergraduate programs. Laura is active in the Louisiana Society of Radiologic Technologists, AEIRS and the ASRT and has served as chair of the Radiologic Technology Editorial Review Board for several years.

Committee Members

Jorge Casanas

Jorge A. Casanas, M.Ed., R.T.(R)(CV)(QM)
Jorge has combined his educational background at Miami-Dade College with his multi-modality practical experience at South Miami Hospital to become an exceptional educator and leader who readily shares his knowledge in articles and lectures at local, state, national and international venues. He is actively involved in various professional societies and has won several awards for his work in radiography. Jorge has multiple publications to his credit, and his clinical experience in a radiology department makes his course work useful while teaching clinical and didactic courses.

James Johnston

James Johnston, Ph.D., R.T.(R)(CV)
James is an associate professor of radiologic science and director of interdisciplinary education for the College of Health Sciences and Human Services at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas. He previously served as a program director at a community college radiography program for 10 years. James currently teaches undergraduate and graduate courses at MSU. He also is an active researcher and writer and lectures at the local, state, national and international levels. He is very active in his state society, the ASRT and AEIRS.

Dennis Leaver

Dennis Leaver, M.S., R.T.(T), FASRT
Dennis is a professor and chairman of the radiation therapy department at Southern Maine Community College. He enjoys providing direction through his students, his textbooks and his lectures. For more than a decade, he has written articles for several peer-reviewed journals and served on the Editorial Review Board for the Radiation Therapist journal. He also coauthored The Principles and Practice of Radiation Therapy. Because education is important to him, Dennis has mentored others and been active in the New England Society of Radiation Therapists.

Kevin Powers

Kevin J. Powers, Ed.D., R.T.(R)M)
Kevin currently holds the position of Director of Education at the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. Kevin has more than 30 years of experience in education with prior experience as a program director of hospital, community college and university-based radiography programs.

Ester Verhovsek

Ester L. Verhovsek, Ed.D., R.T.(R)(M)
Ester is an associate professor and graduate coordinator for the master of science in allied health program in the College of Clinical and Rehabilitative Health Sciences at East Tennessee State University. She earned a bachelor’s degree in radiography from LaRoche College and a master’s degree in education from Frostburg State University. Ester furthered her education at West Virginia University, earning a doctorate in educational leadership. She previously served as radiography program director at two community colleges and currently teaches courses at ETSU.

Board of Trustees Liaison

Nanci Wozniak

Nanci Wozniak, B.S., R.T.(N), CNMT
Nanci is the vice president of education services at Siemens Healthcare, where she has worked since 1999. She has been responsible for various roles in clinical education, including senior director of education programs, director of clinical applications and training, and applications specialist for nuclear medicine and PET imaging. Prior to working at Siemens, Nanci was the chief nuclear medicine technologist at Saint Barnabas Medical Center in Livingston, NJ. She holds a bachelor’s degree in nuclear medicine and is a member of several professional associations.